The Foundation Church story is rich in history, full of the love and blessings of God. What started as a small gathering in a room has grown throughout the years into a thriving house of the Lord, dedicated to glorifying God and discipling people to be the best they can be.
Foundation Church has been around for almost 100 years. Let’s back up and take a look at the rich history of how we came to be and how God has blessed our church since then.
In 1918, a group of people gathered together in a home, signaling the first ever meeting of what is now Foundation Church. By 1922, we had a name and a building: North Ridgeway Baptist Church on the corner of Ridgeway and Jones streets in Sapulpa. Brother J.E. Outlaw was our first pastor.
Over time, the people of North Ridgeway purchased the land east of the church for another building. The entire church gave generously, and in November 1955, the new building was dedicated at 513 North Ridgeway. And we dropped the “North” and became Ridgeway Baptist Church.
Over the years, Ridgeway saw many more pastors and a steady growth in membership.
In June of 1994, Scott Hamilton, our current pastor, was called to Ridgeway. He was fresh out of seminary and ready to begin his first stint as a pastor. Scott jokes that he grew the church from 60 members to 40. He knew that change had to occur in order for God to continue working at Ridgeway Baptist.
One of the first things Scott felt was lacking was the proper structure for a New Testament church. He felt called to begin the implementation of a plurality of leadership. The church voted to add an elder council and a group of deacons to be in place around our pastor.
The next big turning point for our church was in October 1997 when the church voted to buy 20 acres of land on Highway 97. The land was bought and paid for in less than a year.
In the spring of 2000, we launched our Growing on Purpose campaign to begin building our new building. A total of $1.7 million was given, and four years later, in the fall of 2001, we moved to our brand new building, where we’ve been for the last 14 years.
God called our pastors and leaders to change our name to Foundation Church in 2011.
In October 2014, we ordained another elder along with 19 deacons.
And that’s where we are now. We’re amazed at the rich history of this church and how God has blessed it. We can’t wait to see how to he continues to write the story of Foundation Church.